The Old Brown Schwinn Blues

6 Sep

I think I’d give a lot to do over the decision:
my father’s ten speed Schwinn Sports Tourer
gone to the scrapyard for money for vacation.
The maxim, If you don’t ride it, you don’t need it,
uncluttered my life a bit, but now that old brown
Chromium alloy frame and those aluminum rims
haunt me like an unforgiven sin.

My father let me ride it so I could still get to work
after he took my driver’s license, a mercy of persuasion
like a derailleur pushing on a chain to move it.
If I could, I’d go like seventeen again,
bomb a long hill in top gear, lower chin to handlebars
and praise wind that brings tears. Instead,
I slow pedal on this one speed poem.

2 Responses to “The Old Brown Schwinn Blues”

  1. restorel66 September 8, 2015 at 2:00 pm #

    John, I’m glad you followed through on your idea of writing this. It brings back many memories — happy and sad. I hope that putting some of your feelings into words has helped. Thanks for not forgetting your past! Love, Mom

    • restorel66 September 17, 2015 at 9:08 pm #

      Thanks Mom, it was a joy to write.

Any thoughts?

