Saturday Coffee

25 Jul

I press the chop-saw through a two-by-four
and Van Gogh glares dust down around him.
Above his clay-brown hair, the rim has a big chip.

His expression says, I never asked for this
as if he guessed that fate would glaze him.
I make another cut: yellow dust settles

on the last of the cold black in my mug.  I pause,
arrested by his sober gaze…then check my mark
and raise the piney dust again.

VanGoghSelfPortrait1889-90OrsayAA web

2 Responses to “Saturday Coffee”

  1. Anonymous July 25, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    I like this, John. The silent exchange between the two artists. Which one gets the last say? Several years ago I gave my first attempt at oil painting to my mom. A painting made specifically for her. She sawed off the top and side of it (maybe just a 1/4″ or so) to fit it inside a storebought frame. I still can’t get over that.

    • restorel66 July 26, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

      Thank you. And thanks for sharing a bit of your story.
      Are you still painting?

Any thoughts?

