Trampolines In Summer by Nathan Eells

24 Jun

I am bouncing.
Me and my brother,
we are bouncing
kangaroos in Australia,
our big feet pounding,
pounding the ground
as we race across the plain.

I am bouncing.
Me and my brother,
we are bouncing
high into the air.
Astronauts in space
zooming past bright green trees,
suspended high above the ground.
Then we plummet to earth
like rocks dropped off a bridge.

I am bouncing.
Me and my brother
we are bouncing
rubber balls
on a sidewalk.
Down we go—
we hit the pavement
without a sound,
like feet on the trampoline.

3 Responses to “Trampolines In Summer by Nathan Eells”

  1. lauriesibley June 25, 2011 at 8:42 am #

    I love this! The 3 different verses are really fun descriptions and I can imagine just how it feels. Now I need to find me a trampoline to bounce on…

  2. Gwynne July 1, 2011 at 2:12 am #

    Been watching my boys (and Olivia) with Ivan and Anya on the Werner’s trampoline this summer… can’t they just make an entire world out of it! I wish for them that they didn’t have to come in to eat! Again, Nathan is full of insight, thank you 🙂 I wish you all still lived down the street…

    • restorel66 July 1, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

      Gwynne,
      I’ll thank you for Nathan (he and Caleb are at YMCA camp this week, returning tomorrow). We miss y’all too!

Any thoughts?

