Outside by Caleb Eells, age eight (and Dad)

12 Jan

Miserable, miserable sad cats,
uncomfortable and depressed,
their ears are damp and folded flat;
their tails are limp and wet.

The day is cold as it is long
and makes their faces frown;
their bodies huddle in a throng
and snow keeps coming down.

They sit—their thoughts are on the dog
where fire warms his hide;
they think, if he gets up to go,
we’re locking him outside!

SNOWSTORM 2011 214

4 Responses to “Outside by Caleb Eells, age eight (and Dad)”

  1. Steven Shauf January 12, 2011 at 10:43 pm #

    A 5 star poem by Caleb the Great 8! Good job! My cats are cold these days , too.

    • restorel66 January 15, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

      Thank you Steve, Caleb and I had a blast writing it.

  2. Gwynne May 10, 2011 at 12:58 am #

    I find myself identifying with Caleb’s work so much that now I wonder if I am stuck at 8 years old? I hope it’s just that he has a similar style. Whatever it is, I enjoy it very much 🙂

    • restorel66 May 12, 2011 at 8:47 pm #

      glad to hear it! It is always good to be childlike.

Any thoughts?

